University of Huddersfield Logo

Equality Governance and Data

University Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity Enhancement Committee (UEDIEC)

The Committee shall meet as and when required, but normally a minimum of three times per year, and shall report to the Senior Leadership Team with business referred to or from UTLC, UIC, URC or Senate as appropriate.

Equality Diversity and Inclusivity Enhancement Committee - Terms of Reference

Upcoming Comittee Dates

  • TBC (September 2020)


Equality & Diversity in Employment 2012-2015

Equality & Diversity in Employment 2015-2018

Gender Pay Gap Report 2019

Diversity Champion - Role Profile

The University aims to develop and enhance a fair and inclusive working and learning environment for the benefit of all.  The establishment of Diversity Champions in each School/Service is an important initiative for the University in support of this aim.

Working in collaboration with the Senior HR Officer (EDI), the responsibilities of the champions is to:

  • To raise awareness of Equality and Diversity responsibilities within the School/Service
  • To act as an initial point of contact on Equality and Diversity queries within the School/Service
  • To play an active role in championing the University’s commitment to Equality and Diversity across the institution
  • To advocate on equality and diversity matters
  • To act as a conduit for information on equality initiatives and an advocate for positive change
  • To raise awareness of the equality dimension in decision making in their department

To actively support their School/Service in equality and diversity initiatives such as Athena SWAN

Diversity Champions for Schools/Services



 Diversity Champion

Applied Sciences

Gemma Sweeney

Art, Design & Architecture

Lorna Ingram

Computing & Engineering

John Allport

Education & Professional Development

Tracy Wood

Huddersfield Business School

Rachel Shuttleworth

Human & Health Sciences

Berenice Golding

Music, Humanities & Media

Dave Calvert



Diversity Champion

Computing & Library Services

Helen Coman

Estates & Facilities

Sally Hobson

Financial Services

Vicki Carver

Human Resource Group

Christian McGrath

International Office

Diane Clegg

Marketing, Communications & Student Recruitment

Ruth Cohen


Cathie Raw

Research & Enterprise

Anna Seabourne

Student Services

Francesca Devlin

Vice-Chancellor’s Office




The awards winner 2012, 13, 14, 15
University of the year 2013
QS 4 Star Logo
Athena Swan Bronze Award

VAT registration number 516 3101 90

All rights reserved ©