University of Huddersfield Logo

Extra Mile Awards 2007


In 2007, over 200 nominations were received for 119 members of staff. We were delighted with the response and would like to thank all students who submitted nominations and supported the scheme.

Extra Mile Awards 2007 winners

Winners, from left to right: Karen State, Dr. Gary Midgley, Karen Currell, Denis Feather and Jonathan Glazzard

2007 Awards

Twenty-nine members of staff were selected to attend an evening reception and dinner which was held on Wednesday 5 December. Professor Sue Frost: Pro Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, welcomed attendees and presented special commendation certificates to three members of staff who were prize winners in 2006.

Our Vice-Chancellor Professor Bob Cryan presented prizes designed by students from the School of Art, Design and Architecture to five members of staff who the panel judged to have extra special endorsements from their nominating students. Our 2007 finalists were; Karen Currell, Denis Feather, Jonathan Glazzard, Dr. Gary Midgley and Karen State

A further 21 members of staff received certificates and Extra Mile Award plaques which were presented to them by their nominating student.

The event was organised by Lisa Ward and Jane Gaffikin and was superbly catered for by BA Year 2 and HND Year 3 Hospitality students, undertaking the Gastronomy option.

BA Year 2 and HND Year 3 hospitality students

It was impossible to invite all nominated staff to the evening event and we would like to offer our congratulations to those staff who were nominated but not selected on this occasion.

Back to Extra Mile Awards index page

The awards winner 2012, 13, 14, 15
University of the year 2013
QS 4 Star Logo
Athena Swan Bronze Award

VAT registration number 516 3101 90

All rights reserved ©