University of Huddersfield Logo

Extra Mile Awards 2011: Winners

Joint First Prize: Jonathan Flynn and Dr. Gil Pasternak

Extra Mile Awards 2011: Joint First prize winner Jonathan Flynn from Human and Health Sciences with nominating student Katie McNamara

Extra Mile Awards 2011: Joint First prize winner Dr. Gil Pasternak from Art, Design and Architecture with nominating student Aaron Francis

Left to right Jonathan Flynn (Human and Health Sciences) with Katie McNamara and Dr. Gil Pasternak (Art, Design and Architecture) with Aaron Francis

Jonathan was nominated by Katie McNamara, Natalie Wood, Rebekah Franklyn, Charlotte Salisbury, Kirstie Ford, Joanne Gregson, Natalie Bell, Ben Woolley, Ryan Cross, Heather Owen, Alan Darby, Jonathan Milner, Emma Wrath, Camilla Burr, Tegan Greener and Josh Beston

"Jonathan is a fantastic lecturer, with even the most boring subjects, he manages to grab the class's attention. His lectures are creative, where he thinks outside the box to help engage the class through the use of media; and also by making us think, and form our own opinions to then share with the class. His lectures are always well researched, providing masses of information both during the class and afterwards to continue your learning... He has been a fantastic support to the Charity committee, giving both time and donations... He is even willing to give up his birthday to come and support the Physio team when we run the Abbey Dash... Overall he is a one of a kind lecturer, who is willing to give up as much time as is necessary to make us the best physios we possibly can be, so thank you.

Gil was nominated by Aaron Francis, Chris Sandiford, Ellie Gale, Lauren, Shamila Kauser, Laura Kenny, Josephine Chan, Jason B. W. Huckle, Melanie-Jayne Rumble, Lance Hambly, Celece Lowe, Emma Kitson, Kate, Hannah Randles, Kate Lawrence, Rameez Khawaja, Jenny, Anon, Mark Woodward, Paul Rennie, Claire Webster

"Gil is possibly the most dedicated teacher I have ever met when it comes to helping a student mature into a young professional. His approach to teaching is filled with passion and desire for each student’s success, which comes across not only in lectures but also outside the classroom. I have nothing but the highest praise for Gil, he is a true inspiration to myself and I know with his guidance, I have the best platform available to me in order to progress onto an amazing and bright career.”

Third prize: Jon Bush

Extra Mile Awards 2011: Third prize winner Jon Bush from Art, Design and Architecture with nominating student Pete Appleton  

Third prize went to Jon Bush (Art, Design and Architecture) seen here with nominating student Pete Appleton

In addition was nominated by Helen Woodhead, Kimberley Smith, David Ellis, Phil, Craig Greenup, Louise Tsang, Evangelina Liodaki, Philip Taylor, Sarah Ward, Tom Pugh, Emma Wadsworth, Ian Hewitt, Adam Beevers and Will Howard

"Jon has selflessly dedicated his time to guiding many of us through the architecture courses successfully, and his efforts deserve to be acknowledged, as he is an outstanding member of staff.  Often being first in on a morning, and staying until everybody has had a chance to tap into his knowledge. Jon makes time for everybody, no matter what the problem. His door is always open to visitors, his book collection always available for viewing and borrowing. He tries to keep an eye on everybody, to help us get though each year in one piece! We have to thank him for keeping the department together on a social as well as academic level, with his input being vital to the smooth running of events such as the Christmas party, the end of year Ball, and several other architectural get together's during the year. Above all else it is always a pleasure to share a conversation with Jon, ever the positive person, who makes the department of Architecture a happier, more prosperous place.”

Fourth prize: Karen Currell

Extra Mile Awards 2011: Fourth prize winner Karen Currell from Human and Health Sciences, with nominating student Sarah Lawley  

Fourth prize went to Karen Currell (Human and Health Sciences) pictured here with nominating student Sarah Lawley

Karen was also nominated by Glenys McCrum, Grace Weetman, Emily Grimshaw, Natalie McGeorge, Katie Pritchard, Lindsay Rogers, Katie Martin, Amy Purkiss, Sarah Sandeson, Tracey Chapman, Abi Brockis and Jade Warfield

"Karen is extremely supportive to all students and is very approachable, and makes time for students when they need individual support. She has obviously made a concerted effort to get to really know each student on an individual basis, and this is reflected in the amount of respect that the students have for her... Karen is also an extremely proficient lecturer.  Her knowledge and experience within her subject area is exceptional, and she is able to command the interest of the group... I believe Karen is an amazing role model for future healthcare professionals.  She may not realise, but some of her words of wisdom have been key to continuing my faith in the healthcare profession. Karen promotes high standards of moral, ethical and evidenced-based care, and, I believe, gives students the confidence to enter the workplace, accepting only the best levels of patient care as the norm.”

Fifth prize: Julian Schofield


Fifth prize went to Julian Schofield (Music, Humanities and Media) pictured here with nominating student Jennifer Wood

Julian was also nominated by Matthew Wetherill, Jonathan Hughes, Matthew Nash, Alex Morris, Michael McGougan, Eloise Croft, Ross Birks, Greg Gould, Ross Hughes, David Birtwhistle and Nina Ford

"Julian is highly knowledgeable in his field and throughout my time at Huddersfield has always been consistently helpful. I have never known him to disregard any queries, no matter how small they may be. Even when he is busy, Julian actively makes time for anyone who needs help. His demeanour is always pleasant and calm. His patience goes above and beyond. Julian always ensures that whoever he is helping, fully understands his explanations and clearly articulates his instructions… He is always there in the background ready to help.”

Back to Extra Mile Awards 2011 index page

The awards winner 2012, 13, 14, 15
University of the year 2013
QS 4 Star Logo
Athena Swan Bronze Award

VAT registration number 516 3101 90

All rights reserved ©