University of Huddersfield Logo

Thank You Awards 2014

In 2014, over 700 students nominated members of staff to receive a Thank You Award and on Tuesday 8 April the winners were announced at an exciting awards ceremony in St. Paul’s Hall.

Overall there were 721 nominations, and students could choose from the following three categories:

  • Inspirational Teaching - 327 nominations
  • Assessment and Feedback - 92 nominations
  • Excellence in Student Support - 293 nominations

Vice-Chancellor Professor Bob Cryan commented:

"It is a sign of the dedication and commitment of Team Huddersfield that so many nominations were made for the awards and I am tremendously proud of all those who received nominations and of those that went on to win. I would also like to thank all of those students who took the time to nominate the staff that they felt worthy of consideration of a Thank You Award and who have made a difference to their lives."

Photograph of the University of Huddersfield's Thank You Awards Winners 2014 with Vice-Chancellor Professor Bob Cryan, from left to right Dr Andrew Crampton, Rehela Zeb, Vice-Chancellor Professor Bob Cryan, Dr Christopher Davies, Ruth Neville and Dr Phyl Fletcher-Cook

From left to right, Dr Andrew Crampton, Rehela Zeb, Vice-Chancellor Professor Bob Cryan, Dr Christopher Davies, Ruth Neville and Dr Phyl Fletcher-Cook

Inspirational Teaching

Finalists: Marcus Cleaver, Ben Raikes, Dr Jonathan Glazzard and Dr Elizabeth Dobson.
Winner: Dr Andrew Crampton, here's what our students had to say:

"He is a phenomenal, teacher who can breakdown complex concepts in Mathematics and help students to understand these... When he helps me during coding, he doesn't tell me how to write the code, but instead he talks to me in a way that makes me think of what to write... Even when talking about such mundane topics as number systems, he makes it a fun, enjoyable, and interactive experience."

Assessment and Feedback

Finalists: Dr Mercy Ette and Dr Liz Bennett
Winner: Ruth Neville, our students said:

"When she marked my assignment the feedback was amazing. It was detailed, extensive, explanatory and it helped to shape my learning and develop... She truly is amazing and enriches learning for everybody, she has truly influenced and inspired."

Excellence in Student Support

Finalists: Prof Liza Lim, Dr Robert Allan, Carolyn Newton and David Spencer
Winner: Rehela Zeb. Our students had to say:

"It's comforting to know ...that there is someone there, who cares about your needs, and can help you with problems, showing you're not alone... She is a credit to the university and without her support, I wouldn't be as strong as I am."

Lifetime Achievement Award

The final award of the evening was for the Lifetime Achievement Award.  The runner up in this category was Dr Phyl Fletcher-Cook. The winner was Dr Christopher Davies.
In the words of our students here’s why he won the Lifetime Achievement Award:

"He has basically spent most of his professional life making the University of Huddersfield Podiatry what it is today. He has inspired generations of podiatrists to become the best professionals they can be - past and present."

"Some people have a job or career while others are fortunate to find their true vocation, and I think this passion for his trade demonstrates that he had been lucky enough to fulfil his vocation in life that has had a positive impact on students and no doubt patients for many years."

The awards winner 2012, 13, 14, 15
University of the year 2013
QS 4 Star Logo
Athena Swan Bronze Award

VAT registration number 516 3101 90

All rights reserved ©