University of Huddersfield Logo

University Research Committee (URC)

The University Research Committee (URC) is responsible to the Senate for progress towards the strategic objectives and targets set by the University in research and enterprise.
URC now meets four times a year.


  1. To determine the University vision and strategy for research, research degree education and business enterprise engagement; along with appropriate targets and performance indicators.
  2. To oversee the development and management of research activity, research degree education, the development and implementation of mechanisms and initiatives to improve the research and enterprise performance of the University and its participation in external reviews.
  3. To maintain oversight of performance in research and research degree education; responding appropriately as necessary.
  4. To interact closely with the University Teaching & Learning Committee and with the major administrative directorates including Human Resources, Student Services, Marketing, Communications and Student Recruitment, International, Computing and Library Services, Finance and Estates.
  5. To provide informal and flexible fora for the active management and co-ordination of research, research degree education and business development in liaison with the University Research Group (URG), the Graduate Education Group (GEG), the Business Development and Commercial Group and the Research Support Group.

Committee Members

Chair (appointed by Senate) 

Professor A D Ball

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Enterprise

Members (ex officio) 

Professor R A Cryan


Professor T J Thornton

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor D Taylor

Pro Vice-Chancellor, International

Nigel King

Dean, Graduate School



Professor S Swailes

Director of Research, Business School

Professor A P Laws

Director of Research, Applied Sciences

Professor A Lee

Director of Research & Director of Graduate Education, Art, Design and Architecture

Professor T L McCluskey

Director of Research, Computing and Engineering

Professor J Avis

Director of Research, Education and Professional Development

Professor J W McAuley

Director of Research, Human and Health Sciences

Professor J M Clarke

Director of Research, Music, Humanities and Media

Professor C Ntim

Director of Graduate Education, Business School

Professor D R Brown

Director of Graduate Education, Applied Sciences

Professor R Mishra

Director of Graduate Education, Computing and Engineering

Dr H Gavin

Director of Graduate Education, Human and Health Sciences

Professor H Colley

Director of Graduate Education, Education and Professional Development

Professor A Cassidy

Director of Graduate Education, Music, Humanities & Media

Professor L Towns-Andrews

Director of Research and Enterprise

Dr Tracy Turner

Deputy Director of Research and Enterprise

Deans' representative

Professor S Donnelly

 School of Computing and Engineering

Directors & Heads, in attendance by invitation

Mrs S White

Director of Computing and Library Services (or nominee)

Mr C Blair

Director of Estates and Facilities (or nominee)

Mr A McConnell

Director of Financial Services (or nominee)

Mr A Mandebura

Director of International Development (or nominee)

Ms J Grainger

Director of Marketing,  Communications and Student Recruitment (or nominee)


Esmay Walker

Research & Enterprise



The awards winner 2012, 13, 14, 15
University of the year 2013
QS 4 Star Logo
Athena Swan Bronze Award

VAT registration number 516 3101 90

All rights reserved ©